Over 14 years experience defending DWI charges in Dallas, Collin County and throughout North Texas.
Gary Redman has won countless awards for his winning courtroom strategies in the DWI arena. He has been recognized by D Magazine as, “The man to call if you find yourself in one of those orange jumpsuits after a night out.” Gary Redman’s first jury trial win was in 2002 when he successfully represented a man accused of driving while intoxicated in Dallas County. Since then, Gary has successfully defended professional athletes, successful businessmen, former judges, prosecutors, fellow attorneys and many other citizens accused of DWI in Texas.
Contact Gary Redman to discuss the best defense for you.
You only have 15 days from the DWI arrest date to request a Drivers License Hearing!
A drivers license hearing is legally referred to as an Administrative License Revocation hearing. If you fail to request this hearing within 15 days, your license will automatically be suspended in 40 days. The drivers license hearing is important for two reasons
- You can possibly save your license from being suspended.
- You can subpoena the arresting officer to the hearing and possibly learn information to help win your DWI case.
Driving While Intoxicated is one of the most prevalent criminal offenses people face.
If a police officer has reasonable suspicion that you are operating a vehicle while intoxicated or have committed any traffic violation, the officer has a right to perform a traffic stop. Depending on the officer’s assessment and the presence of signs of intoxication like the smell of alcohol, blood shot eyes, and slurred speech, he will have you do a series of field sobriety tests. Should you refuse the field sobriety tests? Your performance on these test can determine your fate. If the officer feels there is a probability you are intoxicated, you’ll be arrested and charged with DWI.
Penalty Range For DWI in Texas
Driving While Intoxicated or DWI in Texas can range from a class B misdemeanor up to a felony level charge. Even a first offense class B misdemeanor can seriously impact one’s life. A person charged with DWI is not eligible for deferred adjudication. So any plea of guilty or no contest to a DWI charge will remain a conviction on the persons record forever. A conviction can include a jail sentence, fines, license suspension and DPS surcharges.
Under Texas Law, a person is considered intoxicated if they have consumed enough alcohol (and/or a drug, dangerous drug, controlled substance) to cause them to lose their normal use of mental or physical faculties, or if the person has a blood or breath alcohol level of .08 or greater.
- DWI First Offense –Class B misdemeanor punishable by 3 to 180 days in jail and up to a $2,000.00 fine.
- DWI First Offense with .15 or greater alcohol level — Class A misdemeanor, punishable by up to 1 year in jail and up to a $4,000.00 fine.
- Second DWI Offense — Class A misdemeanor, punishable by up to 1 year in jail and up to a $4,000.00 fine.
- Third DWI Offense – 3rd degree felony, punishable from 2 to 10 years in prison and up to a $10,000. 00 fine.
- DWI with a Child in the Car – State Jail Felony, punishable by 180 days to 2 years in state jail and up to a $10,000.00 fine.
- Intoxication Assault — Causing serious bodily injury to another while Driving While Intoxicated. 3rd degree felony, punishable by from 2 to 10 years in prison and up to a $10,000. 00 fine.
- Intoxication Manslaughter – Killing another person while Driving While Intoxicated. 2nd degree felony, punishable by from 2 to 20 years in prison and up to a $10,000. 00 fine.
The ultimate goal in defending a DWI charge is to either place the prosecutor in a position requiring a dismissal or try the case before a judge or jury and obtain an acquittal.
DWI vs. DUI
Driving Under the Influence “DUI” only applies to individuals under 21 years of age. It is illegal for a person under 21 years old to drive with any detectable amount of alcohol in their system. This offense can be committed with a blood alcohol level as low as 0.01. If a person under 21 years old has a blood alcohol level of .08 or above, or if the alcohol has caused them to lose the normal use of their mental or physical faculties, the person can be charge with DWI.
DUI is a class C misdemeanor in Texas. Since most people associate DUI with DWI, it is imperative to hire a DUI attorney to represent you. If you are charged with a DUI, the arresting officer can take your license immediately and you face a 60 day drivers license suspension. If you refuse a breath or blood test, the suspension could be as long as 6 months. You only have 15 days to request a drivers license hearing.
While DUI may carry less severe penalties that DWIs, the charges are still serious and can affect your future. A conviction for DUI on your record can hinder your ability to attend certain colleges, pursue professional licenses in various fields, or to reach many other future goals.
DWI & DUI are severe charges in Dallas, Texas accompanied by harsh reprecussions. Don’t hesitate to seek the expert legal advice and assistance of an experienced DWI attorney or DUI attorney in Dallas. Gary Redman has helped countless clients in Dallas, Collin, Denton, Tarrant and other Texas counties with their DWI or DUI charges. He is familiar with current laws governing DWI cases. Gary Redman’s experience with DWI cases will ensure you have the best criminal defense.
Contact Dallas DWI Lawyer Gary Redman for a Free Case Evaluation.
Gary Redman is available for a confidential no cost consultation for anyone seeking to hire a criminal defense attorney.