Drivers License Suspension

Texas Drivers License Suspension

License Suspension in Texas

A person’s driving privileges can be suspended for a number of reasons.  These reasons included: multiple accidents, multiple traffic tickets, criminal convictions and refusing a breath or blood test.  Sometimes a person’s health condition can cause them to be a danger to others on the roadways.  If the Department of Public Safety is notified of such condition, a notice of suspension is typically sent to the person.  An administrative hearing can be requested to convince a judge that such person is not a danger. The judge will decide if their license should be suspended or revoked, and for how long.  The judge can also defer the suspension.

Length of Suspension

The length of suspension will be determined by an administrative law judge if a hearing is timely requested.  Suspensions due to health conditions are sometime effective until a medical provider deems the person capable of driving.  Suspensions due to multiple accidents or traffic tickets are typically one or two years.

License Suspension for Alcohol Related Offenses

  • 180 Days for Breath or Blood Test Refusals, if the person has no other alcohol related contacts within 10 years
    • 2 Years if there has been one or more alcohol related contacts within 10 years
  • 90 Days for Breath or Blood Test Failures, if the person has no other alcohol related contacts within 10 years180 Days for
    • 1 Year if there has been one or more alcohol related contacts within 10 years

Reinstating Your Drivers Licnese

If your license has been suspended, you must pay a reinstatement fee to DPS before your license will be valid. This fee is typically either $100.00 or $125.00.  You can either mail the payment to the Texas Department of Public Safety or you can pay it the DPS website.  If you are close to the end of your suspensions and paying your reinstatement fee, it is suggested to pay on-line.  Payments mailed can take several weeks to be processed.  And, your license will not be reinstated until the fee is paid.

Click to Here Pay Your Reinstatement Fee

Contact Gary Redman if you would like to discuss the status of your Texas Drivers License.